Summer 2014 in India (Day 4)

Day 4:

Today I spent 4 hours at the salon. The first two hours, I got my nails done with a mani/pedi. At Naturals (this salon) it was probably $12 to get both a mani and pedi done vs the $25 it costs in America. But the best part is how patiently and how thoroughly they take care of you. They had so many different soaps and scrubs and washed and scrubbed my feet and hands so well. It was worth the time 🙂

 

I spent barely 10 minutes on a bike today with my cousin, but I have to say it was the scariest 10 minutes of my trip so far. Bikes are nice in India because they can go through narrow spaces in a traffic jam, but that’s also why they’re so scary. I’m just glad I made it out alive. And at the end I got to eat my favorite India candies – Five Star, Milky Bar, and Alpenlibe.

 

My uncle in Chennai lives less than 3 minutes away from the Nanganallur Anjaneyar Temple (a Hanuman Temple). Anjaneyar is our family god, so he’s always had a special respect. This Anjaneyar at this temple is around 62 feet tall. He’s huge and absolutely gorgeous! We only went for a short period of time but I’m so happy I got to see him 6 years later.

 

We went to dinner at my uncle and aunt’s place (my cousins, their daughters, live in California now). It’s always a great time with them! The highlight of this trip was probably the fact that we all congregated in their bedroom to talk instead of their living area because it was so hot and the room has an AC. At least we weren’t sweaty 🙂

Leave a comment